• Welcome to River Dave's Place

DirecTV - Using your account in 2 different locations

Discussion in 'RD's Lounge' started by MMD, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. MMD

    MMD Banned

    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    If a DirecTV subscriber has an account at home, can they send their parents a DirecTV receiver (assuming they have a dish installed) can their parents in another state watch DirecTV on the subscriber's account?

    I believe this is the same as folks who have a DTV account at home and take a receiver to their river house and watch DTV there on the same account, right?
     
  2. spotondl

    spotondl In a Purple Haze

    Messages:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    559
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    I use my DTV account in Havasu with a different receiver and anywhere I am with my RV... You just have to go through the setup and aim the dish... Haven't had any issues...

    Home is Los Angeles btw...
     
  3. Outnumbered

    Outnumbered Don't tax me bro!

    Messages:
    5,452
    Likes Received:
    369
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
  4. HOOTER SLED-

    HOOTER SLED- Supercharged MOTORBOAT!!!

    Messages:
    19,101
    Likes Received:
    6,807
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Why yes, yes you can. I known someone that has done this and just split the bill. No different than just taking a spare dish, box and TV out to the desert and hook it up while camping.
     
  5. Riverson

    Riverson CHA PLEASE

    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    176
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    I have 8 DTV boxes at home, 2 at my parker house and 1 at my Havi house. Mine are all grandfathered in and arn't "allowed" anymore, but they can't tell what you do with your boxes as long as they arn't connected to a phone line..just sayin
     
  6. plaster dave

    plaster dave Face down A$$ up

    Messages:
    7,801
    Likes Received:
    2,360
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    X2
     
  7. HOOTER SLED-

    HOOTER SLED- Supercharged MOTORBOAT!!!

    Messages:
    19,101
    Likes Received:
    6,807
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Yup.......... I have 4 of these boxes and a dish if anyone is interested. :D
     
  8. pronstar

    pronstar President, Dallas Chapter

    Messages:
    22,861
    Likes Received:
    13,082
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Everyone thinks the receivers need a phone line, and DirecTV will somehow "find out"

    RV's don't have phone lines, and millions of RV's have DirecTV.
    Easy peasy :thumbsup
     
  9. TPC

    TPC Wrenching Dad

    Messages:
    21,334
    Likes Received:
    6,424
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    4 receivers at our house
    2 receivers at the river trailer
    2 receivers in the boat
    3 receivers in our fifth wheel.
    I think it's $5 a month more per receiver.
    Still,, 300 channels and nothing on.
     
  10. Mrs. Pirate

    Mrs. Pirate Active Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    You have to have old receiver... The new ones somehow are connected. Just started that this year.
     
  11. YoPengo

    YoPengo Inmate #47

    Messages:
    13,135
    Likes Received:
    4,758
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    I think they have to have the same programming as your home account. The dish has to be set-up as if your are at home. (they will watch your local channels). So if they are in another state... they have what you have for programming.
     
  12. YZFRider

    YZFRider Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Yepp, its all good as long as they dont mind your programming. As for, "can they detect where you are" I have H22 receiver which is pretty new and have never been called on it. So I would say they have no idea and they do not require a phone line I have mine connected through the internet at both places and have not had any issues.
     
  13. pronstar

    pronstar President, Dallas Chapter

    Messages:
    22,861
    Likes Received:
    13,082
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    The receiver in our toy hauler is a few years old, the one in our bedroom is 1 year old. Neither is connected to anything.

    If the one in the toy hauler hasn't been turned-on in a while, there's an on-screen message, and I have to call the 800 number and they send a signal that re-activates it, but this is all done via the automated system and takes about 2 minutes...no need to even speak to anyone.

    There's no way they can mandate connection to anything, because most RV's aren't connected to anything. You may get limited functionality of some features like PPV without a connection, though.
     

Share This Page