WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Gelcoat 102

Gelcoater

Reaction score
Please forgive my spelling and grammar in this thread,as well as picture placement.I was mew to the site at the time and still figuring out how it all worked.Not to mention i had spent the last 20 years spraying and next to mo time at all writing anything other than my signature on checks.:D

ok gc 101 looked kinda lame, so... check this out. i like to work from a ruff sketch, im no pencil artist, 1204091050a[1].jpg 1204091049a[1].jpg and a clean mold. Now i start by just laying it out with 1/8 in. fine line tape

Last edited:

Gelcoater

Reaction score
1204091121a[1].jpg

1204091139a[1].jpg

1204091304a[1].jpg so i just lay out the design on one side then transfer angles and measurements to the other side,then lay them down

Gelcoater

Reaction score
1204091347a[1].jpg here ,ive laid 1/4 in. fine line to both sides of the pinstripe anywhere there will be a color other than white or pin color. are you confused yet?

Last edited:

Gelcoater

Reaction score
and work our way back. 1204091510a[1].jpg so when we build a boat out of a mold,we tape off or mask portions of the mold in some kind of design,spray the majority of the mold with gell,pull the tape off the mold,exposing bare mold in the design shape you masked. heres where it gets trickey,im laying multiple layers,varying widths between tape,to make different size lines,flames or what have you.this pic is the mold masked and a couple point trimmings away from spraying.will be sprayed monday the 7th

Gelcoater

Reaction score
1204091458a[1].jpg

1204091451a[1].jpg

1204091405a[1].jpg