written by Zach Bale

I was bit by the performance boating bug early on. Through Powerboat Magazine I studied the boat tests, offshore race reports and poker run articles for hours. In addition to the typical areas like Key West and Miami, there was a lake often documented in the magazine located in the Midwest that didn?t seem as picturesque yet somehow garnered just as much attention, Lake of the Ozarks. I often wondered what the attraction was to that inland lake 3 hours away from the nearest major city that barely ranks on the list of largest US lakes.

attachment.php

Fast forward a couple decades and last week I visited Lake of the Ozarks for a dealer training event. A few weeks prior, I had reached out to Brett Manire, the owner of Performance Boat Center in Osage Beach, MO. They have been receiving lots of press lately due to their recent merger with Nauti Marine and impressive facility build out and I was eager to see the operation for myself while gaining the inside scoop on what makes Lake of the Ozarks such a performance destination.

As I made the final turn onto the property I was taken aback by the scale of the sprawling facilities. As a city dweller I couldn't come close to estimating the total acreage but as a comparison, the overall property is larger than many regional airports! It quickly became clear that this wasn't just a dealership for expensive boats, it was a destination. The site includes no less than a fully functioning marina managed by Brett's wife, private launch ramp with trailer parking, gas dock, service center, paint booth, detail shop, storage buildings, accessory shop (soon to feature Boat Bling products, naturally), and a massive showroom with 2nd floor office space. If that wasn't already enough, construction is currently underway for a restaurant scheduled to open Memorial Day weekend and if needed, there is plenty of space to grow.

Showroom and service buildings. Storage & restaurant site not pictured
attachment.php