This last weekend held the first ever Outboard Church forum meetup. Unfortunately, RD was unable to attend, so I was sent as his proxy. I’m relatively new to the boating scene, but after the fun I had shooting Desert Storm, I couldn’t say no! First stop was Paul Wallner’s (Bully’s) house for a BBQ. I didn’t know a single soul there, but these outboard-loving people welcomed me with open arms. After only a couple minutes, I had met most everyone. Great conversation and great food. Everyone was stoked to hit the water the next morning.

DJI_0005_edit-2.jpg

We all met up early Saturday morning to launch from Windsor. Forecast showed a beautiful day, apart from winds coming in later. Plan was to roam around for a couple hours and get to Pirate Cove by 11. I hopped in Bully’s Nordic 28SS and we headed into the channel.

DSCF7057.jpg

DSCF7304.jpg

We cleared the buoys at Thompson Bay and he gave it some gas. Now, I have never ridden in a cat (let alone ANY 100mph boat) before… I’ve seen ‘em, shot ‘em, but never ridden in one. The blades began to bite, the 400R’s began singing. Before I knew it, we were halfway to Steamboat. I noticed two things: 1) It’s probably easier to take pictures from in an actual tornado than the backseat of a boat going over 100, and 2) I’m never going to see my beloved hat again.

DSCF8205.jpg

DSCF7378.jpg

DSCF7796.jpg

After some ripping around and a drone photo at Steamboat, I hopped onboard Bully’s other boat, a Doug Wright 32, and we all took off for Pirate Cove. Once we started really moving, I noticed how differently the 32 rode vs the 28. Seemed to be a smoother ride. It surprised me how much length and hull design affects the ride so drastically. As we made our way over, the group accumulated a few more boats. The ride through the gorge was gorgeous, as usual.

DJI_0015-Edit.jpg

DSCF8154.jpg