WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

V Drive Advice

530RL

Reaction score
I am thinking of building a V-Drive. I am fairly handy, a reasonable fabricator and have built several other things including sand cars and some vintage car restoration.

I am thinking along the following lines:

1) I don't think I really want a flat bottom but something with a slight V.

2) I would prefer to have someone build a new hull and rig the V-drive, then I would finish the power, wiring, interior etcetera. I am not a boat expert and my experience is limited to Modified V hulls and outboard setup.

3) I like the Giroux pictures where they have a slight V bottom with a real wood deck. I am however a little concerned about 17.8 feet and wether or not 18 or 19 would be a little better?

4) I want an open engine compartment.

5) Building a project is as much fun to me as having the finished boat.

6) The use is basically for the river goofing off. I have access to other watercraft and the wife rides the toon. I do not however, at my age, need to be the fastest or the coolest, I am too old now. I would like a little free board so I do not sink whenever others go by.

7) I would probably run power that is non-standard, but has plenty of power and is all aluminum.

So I need all the input you guys have as I am certain I do not know Jack Shit.

Basic Questions,

1) Why do the 20 and 21 foot boats run auto transmissions? Weight? Need the gearing as drag reduces?

2) Who builds a quality hull and does quality rigging?

3) What size do I really need/want and why? Pros and cons?

4) What type of hull is the right type and why?

5) Is there something between 21 cruiser and 17 foot flatty.

The more opinions the better.

Thanks,

AzGeo

Fair winds and following seas George.. Rest Easy..
Reaction score