WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Painting millwork...

Cray Paper

Reaction score
Just finished phase 1 of the house renovation and my wife wants tall wood base painted white. It's Pandora's box as our home has golden oak stained oak and hemlock trim throughout but after seeing a test piece set next to the new carpet and painted rooms she is spot on. The painter foreman on my project recommended using Sherwin Williams Classic Pro semi gloss with a dab of water and rolling it on quickly.
I'm a carpenter and know I can paint, just haven't done much finish work like this other than finishes on oak doors and sidelights .

Any tricks, tips would be appreciated. I cant find shit for videos on this...do I sand the shop prime before laying this down....it's wood finger jointed base from Lowes...prime it again and sand before using the SW's paint... or just go for it?

NicPaus

Reaction score
If doing the whole house spraying is the fastest before installing. No roller marks or brush strokes. No cutting it in with a brush. Just touch up the nail holes. Have installed thousand of feet this way.

endobear

Reaction score
Fill nail holes. I like Crawfotds.
Sand. Remove dust. Prime.
Sand again.
If your spraying, the SW Pro Classic is great.
If your doing it all by hand I prefer the SW Emerald UTE line.
I also prefer a satin finish over semi gloss.
We don't do much semi gloss anymore.

Rbcconst

Reaction score
Just finished phase 1 of the house renovation and my wife wants tall wood base painted white. It's Pandora's box as our home has golden oak stained oak and hemlock trim throughout but after seeing a test piece set next to the new carpet and painted rooms she is spot on. The painter foreman on my project recommended using Sherwin Williams Classic Pro semi gloss with a dab of water and rolling it on quickly.
I'm a carpenter and know I can paint, just haven't done much finish work like this other than finishes on oak doors and sidelights .