WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Howard 288!

legend14

Reaction score
Any input on the benefit of putting a 5 Blade Maximus Lab prop on this deck boat with a Mercury 600 SCI engine and XR drive?? Is there a improvement in handling? Performance?? Or going with a Lab finished prop??
Also, are Electric/Hydralic brakes on a trailer worth the expense??? Triple axle!

BUDMAN

HAVASU BOUND
Reaction score
Hydraulic brakes in my opinion. Electric brakes if not service and cleaned properly tend to have problems or seize up. 3 axle trailers seem to be the rage so if it’s not much more money I say go for it. Helps stabilize when towing plus if you loose a bearing while towing it helps to have 5 tires on the ground. Plus, no denying the cool factor of a 3 axle. I’m no expert on props and opinions will vary but when I was researching a 5 blade for my boat (525 XR drive) I was told they are a great all around prop but tend to eat drive gears while getting on plane. Again opinions vary. What does the manufacture suggest? Call around the different drive shops and get opinions. Congrats on the new build. Again this is just my .02 and I’m no expert

Tony DCB Boats

Reaction score
Any input on the benefit of putting a 5 Blade Maximus Lab prop on this deck boat with a Mercury 600 SCI engine and XR drive?? Is there a improvement in handling? Performance?? Or going with a Lab finished prop??
Also, are Electric/Hydralic brakes on a trailer worth the expense??? Triple axle!
Yes on the Max 5 for all around better performance and mid range. Electric brakes all the way.
-Tony

shunter2005

Reaction score
Electric brakes will work for you as long as you don't dunk the trailer in salt water. The down side to electric brakes, imo, is you have to use drums instead of disc brakes.
If you go EOH you will never have anything else.

rush1

Reaction score