WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Power Grid

Xring01

Reaction score
Wow, in the last 2 weeks, I have been reading articles almost daily on the same subjects, water and the power grid…
Read articles on Grand Cooley Damn, Lake Powell, Lake Oroville, Lake Shasta, Colorado river, Lake Mead… all the hydro that comes off them, versus the water capacity they are currently at.

For those of you on the West Coast, I highly recommend you buy a back up generator soon. If you already have one, it might be a good time to do maintenance on it. Ensure its ready to.

I expect we will have alot of outage this summer. This brief article pretty much somes up the stuff I have been saying on RDP for a few years now.

9E03F085-B336-49DE-A44D-3A9265F3D838.jpeg

sintax

Reaction score
had a long convo with my uncle about this last weekend. Hes been in the power industry for his whole professional career. He pretty much confirmed we're f'd with this new direction we're heading. Said we should be building pebble bed nuke plants like the Chinese are doing.

Xring01

Reaction score
I have been in the Electric Utility industry since 1996…
For me…. The supply / demand equation is just not adding up…

When that happens, lights go out in my world.

The fact the politicians put us in this position, doesnt sit well with me.

However CA was able to run at 99.87% renewable power for a bit of time a few days ago. But when I dug into that article the peak load of CA at that time was only 18000mW. That may sound like alot to most of you. But the key thing is… That 99.87% was during the spring when no one in CA is running AC’s or heater. Both SCE and PG&E had previous peak loads of 22,000-24000mW each in the past few years. Thats just the two of them. So if they both peaked on the same day, thats 44,000- 48,000mW…