WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

DIY HOME PAINTING TRICKS AND TIPS.....

2FORCEFULL

Reaction score
Well the time has come..... I just can't take it anymore.... I've been a painter for going on 60 years, and nothing worse than going over to a friends house and either they painted there self,.. or hired a 100 bucks a room painter off craigs list.. accent color all over main body, wall color all over trim and base.... you get the picture... eye sore...

so probley about 100 years ago.... some one decided to put paint in gallon cans..... horrible.... one freak'n mess after another try'n to get the paint out of the can... and left overs... another mess... garage is full of left over paint cans that when you need some of the color, you find that the paint in the can is all skinned over and ruined... when paint sits in the can the tint seperate, and even if you do get the skin out.... the color doesn't match...

same with 5 gallon buckets.... with 5 gallon buckets you need to box the paint, that waay all the paint is uniform... and you never have to use "PAINT STICKS,... another freecking mess....

so here's how I do it...

my wife, like most wives.... doesn't like all the paint colors the same...MONO... doesent work,... so I'll start from the begining.... gallon cans..
the first thing I do is dump the paint into a gallon jug.... vinegar jug, or what I use is lucas bottles.... I use whats left in the can to cut in , and clean the can out.... then toss the can...

with the paint in the jug, no stir stick needed,... tight'n the cap and shake.... this also makes it handy for touch up, the paint in the lid is usually enough to dot paint spots...... but... when you need some in a paint tray,.. it pours right in with no mess and you don't waist so much paint... pour in what you think you need, run out? pour a little more... I like to magic marker the bottle w/ what the paint is, date & house