WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

1977 21ft Spectra dash Modification

wettrthebettr

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new at Day cruisers.
I have owned and worked on Flat bottom v-drives and Competition Direct drive ski boats,
Now I'm looking into buying This 1977 21ft Spectra V-drive.
I have a Question about the dash on this boat.
it appears the dash on the Right side is cut out.
Does anybody know if Spectra made a dash that was cut out in 1977?
Just wondering if the seller did it or does Spectra do this from the Mold?
here is a photo.
Thank you

spectradash.jpg
spectradash1.jpg

SBMech

Fixes Broken Stuff
Reaction score
I would guess that someone modified that themselves, I have never seen that on any Spectra before.

It's Spectra 20. They never made a 21. It is 20'10".

Looks like a decent project, what is in it?

74 spectra20 v-drive

74 spectra20 v-drive
Reaction score
That was done after it left the shop. it looks like this boat has the floor going all the way forward which would make it very tight to get under the dash that cut out would be nice. I doubt there is any structural issues with it. I cut a notch out of my Sanger for my left shin to operate my over ride pedal, much smaller but have had no cracking or issues since 95'

wettrthebettr

Reaction score
454 tunnel ram, fresh engine blueprinted balanced, 560 lift cam hydraulic cam, Champian V-drive ,Drirect drive
cav plate, swim platform, new floor, refurbished gel coat.
All it needs is the carpet and Rear seat and engine cover upholstery.
That dash cut out worries me, that it will compromise the structural integrity of the dash and deck

wettrthebettr

Reaction score
I have two project boats to pick from this 77 Spectra or a 72 Campbell 21ft that is tore apart and needs a engine.
The Campbell has all the parts to go back together, the kicker is it is only 3 grand,

campbell2.jpg
Cambell 21ft.jpg

Last edited:

74 spectra20 v-drive

74 spectra20 v-drive
Reaction score