WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

4 point harness in a jeep?

LakeBeard

Reaction score
Alright brain trust, what's the verdict? do I need to put 4 point harnesses in my Jeep? I don't do any crazy crawling, but I did almost roll it this weekend. I hear OEM are better w/o head and neck restraints...is this true? I'm new to off-roading and want to keep my family safe.

LargeOrangeFont

We aren't happy until you aren't happy
Reaction score
5 point will keep you in the seat. I’d do 4 point at minimum, but 5 is actually more comfortable and safer , but it may not work properly with your stock seats.

The issue is on the street, you don’t want the airbag going off if you are in a harness.

If it has a cage, you want the harness, and disable the airbags.

You can set the harness up with eyelets so it clips in if you don’t want it all the time. You can get it in and out in a couple minutes.

PlanB

Reaction score
4 points in my Rubicon with PRP seats and aftermarket cage. I have come close to rolling it, so the cage and harnesses makes me feel a lot better.
IMG_1839.JPG

LargeOrangeFont

We aren't happy until you aren't happy
Reaction score
4 points in my Rubicon with PRP seats and aftermarket cage. I have come close to rolling it, so the cage and harnesses makes me feel a lot better. View attachment 850439

@LakeBeard

Ideally you want seats like these to properly run 5 point belts. Note the pass through in the seat bottom for the submarine harness.

lbhsbz

Reaction score
I would leave the stock belts unless you can go 5 point, but 5 point won't work with the stock seats. I raced with 5 point harnesses for years and the jeep I have now came with a 4 point setup...I hate them. And don't think they'd do a lot in anything but possibly a rollover.

Anything modern will have seat belt pre-tensioners that will lock down the belts in most situations where the driver needs to stay put, so without a cage...they'll work fine.

Hava-Schiada

Reaction score