WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

boat tax bill

J&k beer can

Reaction score
A few questions..
so the my lady gets a tax bill from cdtfa saying taxes is owed on old boat..
it was done coast guard documented and bought in AZ and never left there till is was sold to new owner from cali..
the boat was registered in both our names(she is cali resident) and i have been a AZ resident since 96 and still am..
looking on there website has exemption but not sure what to chose...

Any inmates deal with this and fill out info online????
actual dealing with this not hear say what to do.. thanks..

PlanB

Reaction score
Not sure if it's the same issue, but sounds similar.

We bought our Top Gun new from a dealer in California. The boat was delivered to AZ, so the sale officially took place in AZ. Boat was CG documented with a home port of Lake Havasu City, AZ. Four years after buying the boat we are contacted by the state of California saying we owe sales tax. We tell them the sale took place at our house in Arizona, and they turn around and report us to the state of Arizona. Arizona comes after us for sales tax plus penalties and interest. With the help of a tax attorney in Arizona we were able to get the state to drop the interest and penalties, but still had to scratch them a check for 20K. It was a painful thing to do, especially since I had already sold the boat, but the dealer we bought it from did not collect the correct sales tax at the time of purchase.

Not sure if this is what you are facing, but it sounds similar. I would contact an attorney if you want a precise answer to your question.

Patyacht

Reaction score
I think the bought in AZ will require you to pay AZ not CA sales take as long as documented delivery was in AZ not CA. The USCG Documentation gets you out of the Annual Registration fees but not the sales tax. AZ law says if your boat is Documented you do not have to register the boat annually.

Singleton

Reaction score