WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Building water ski's

whiteworks

Custom Shutters by WhiteWorks
Reaction score
As some of you know I am a wood worker by trade, When I am lucky I land projects that I am passionate about other times not so much (just work) Any ways I would like to do some experimental projects and building a ski sounds like a cool project. I am not looking to build the next best ski but more so something that is absolutely beautiful to look at and potentially rideable. For starters I am thinking just really cool wall pieces and maybe some off shoot furniture for river pads. Now heres the deal I have no doubt that I can build some bitchen looking stuff, it would be cool if it was actually a functional ski. So here is what I am looking for.
1. construction techniques
2. proper glues
3. time tested wood species
4. the proper way to set the ski up for bindings in case it is actually ridden
5. anything else I dont know.
The reality is if I am passionate about something the results always turn out cool, I have a few ideas for some cool furniture but the way I work is one thing always leads to another, so I gotta start somewhere.

obnoxious001

Engine building character
Reaction score
Hey Dylan

When I was a kid, one of our family friends had some kind of press fixture to laminate the ski and get the proper curve in it. His son may still have some of the knowledge, since he was a rep for Vogue water skis about the time I was learning to ski.

Bob Maha would be a wealth of information if he wanted to pass any of it on to you. I will give some thought to who else knows.

If you could make something similar to the Maha 360 at an affordable price, I would think you could sell some, but probably not smart to talk that direction with Bob if you want him to help you.

Riverbound

Banned
Reaction score