WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

CA Title and Register in AZ Question

DanG

Reaction score
I know similar questions have been asked and I have done the search, so I have seen the "private party AZ, no tax" responses. I am looking for more specific clarification from someone that has possibly done the process. Obviously I am trying to avoid paying anything extra to CA, so any advice is appreciated.

Purchasing a boat with CA Title and CA Registration.
Purchased from a CA Resident that has a place in Havasu Springs, Parker, AZ.
Transaction and delivery will take place in Parker, AZ.

I am a CA resident, but own a home in LHC, AZ.
I will use and store boat at home in AZ.
My plan is to register the boat in AZ as non-resident and trailer in CA (so it matches my tow vehicle).

Question:
Is there any special paperwork I need to have completed from the seller to show the boat was purchased and delivered in AZ?
Will I have to pay taxes to CA anyway since both buyer and seller are technically CA residents?

Again, looking for someone that has been through the above and can provide personal experience. Thank you for your time.

Pic for Interest.
IMG_2547.JPG

Dan

sintax

Reaction score
I bought in CA, from a private party, paid cash.

sent my title to Sierra Title in AZ. (sierra-title.com) and they processed it for me in AZ, as non-resident. Got my new AZ numbers, and its stored in AZ.

CA tax collector came looking for his cut since the seller submitted his sale form to the DMV, as he should. I told them its no longer in CA, and sent him a copy of my AZ reg. He said have a good day.

Zero tax ever paid. (aside from the income tax)

remember folks, taxation is theft.

DanG

Reaction score

sent my title to Sierra Title in AZ. (sierra-title.com) and they processed it for me in AZ, as non-resident. Got my new AZ numbers, and its stored in AZ.