WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Crzy2bealive Man Cave Project

crzy2bealive

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
3,558
Reaction score
1,792
As some of you know I just recently bought a house on La Marida that has a 73 ft. Driveway with a detached garage.

The first thing I wanted to do was section off the driveway to give myself more privacy.

Before



After

IMG_20161031_184301.jpg

Another project that I stopped and started and procrastinated for months on was a pathway from the garage to the house.

IMG_20161105_164930.jpg

Started ripping out drywall.

20161029_172732.jpg
20161031_140615.jpg
 

Heylam

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
1,510
Reaction score
1,583
Gate looks great! This is going to be a cool thread to follow.
 

crzy2bealive

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
3,558
Reaction score
1,792
If anyone knows or can help with upgrading my sub panel I'll pay you in a couple of 30 packs.

Currently the garage sub panel is fed from the main panel by a 240v 50 amp breaker. It appears they use 8 gauge wire .

Current sub panel.

20161031_140827.jpg

I'm moving my jacuzzi to behind the garage which requires on its own a 240v 50 amp breaker.

I want to be able to add to my sub panel but it doesn't look like I can.

I'm pretty green when it comes to electrical so bare with me.

20160806_100536.jpg
 

mjc

Retired Neighbor
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
9,035
Reaction score
4,744
How big of a main panel do you have?
 

RiverDave

In it to win it
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
105,198
Reaction score
88,200
Did you build the gate? Why are you ripping out drywall?

RD
 

crzy2bealive

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
3,558
Reaction score
1,792
Did you build the gate? Why are you ripping out drywall?

RD
Nope didn't build the gate. Friends father in law owns a company.

Running new electrical, coaxial, speaker wire, airlines, and insulation.
 

AzGeo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
8,298
Reaction score
7,910
I would come out of the main with a 220/50 amp 'ground fault breaker', and run a separate line out to a separate box for the pool . You can then break down in that new box for 120/10 or 15 amp heater starter, lights, tunes, etc .

Go underground to the garage, thru the wall, and mount the new panel inside the garage . Run up and over the attic to where ever you want the power (220 or 110) to go outside on the back wall .

If you install 'wall sockets', they must be 5' from the water's edge, and should be 'ground fault protected' .

For 'pools and hot tubs' I use a 1" (old propshaft) stainless steel rod, about 3' long . Grind one end to a point, the other I drill and tap a hole to 'bolt on a wire' . Drive it into the ground (out of the way) near the pump equipment . Run an 8ga or 10ga (thhn) ground wire from the pump ground to the ground stake . (can't be too safe IMO)
 

crzy2bealive

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
3,558
Reaction score
1,792
I would come out of the main with a 220/50 amp 'ground fault breaker', and run a separate line out to a separate box for the pool . You can then break down in that new box for 120/10 or 15 amp heater starter, lights, tunes, etc .

Go underground to the garage, thru the wall, and mount the new panel inside the garage . Run up and over the attic to where ever you want the power (220 or 110) to go outside on the back wall .

If you install 'wall sockets', they must be 5' from the water's edge, and should be 'ground fault protected' .

For 'pools and hot tubs' I use a 1" (old propshaft) stainless steel rod, about 3' long . Grind one end to a point, the other I drill and tap a hole to 'bolt on a wire' . Drive it into the ground (out of the way) near the pump equipment . Run an 8ga or 10ga (thhn) ground wire from the pump ground to the ground stake . (can't be too safe IMO)
That's kinda the set up we have going on now. Previous owner has a 220/50 amp breaker in the main and a separate box for the jacuzzi.

20161107_172819.jpg

I can't stand the placement since it takes up up the whole patio.

1478568756049.jpg

Hence the reason why I want to move it to behind the garage.

I found how the previous owner ran the wires from the main to the garage sub panel.

Maybe I can run wire like you said from the main to the garage install the seperate box and run the wire through the studs to behind the garage.
 

AzGeo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
8,298
Reaction score
7,910
ALL THAT ELECTRICAL IS TOO CLOSE TO THE WATER .

OK, is that clear so you can do it correctly this time ?

As I said, I would run 'a new separate line', to another box and so on ............

You know that 'distances' require thicker wires, right ?

NEVER go on the thin/weak side, always go to the thicker more heavy gauge wiring, and let the breakers do their jobs .
 

srttruck

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
519
Reaction score
315
On the new sub panel keep the ground and neutral wires separated on their own buss bars.
 

River918

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Messages
649
Reaction score
433
On the new sub panel keep the ground and neutral wires separated on their own buss bars.
Can you give me the contact info for the guy the built the gate? I live close by and need to have a gate built.. thanks
 

Jimmy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2015
Messages
2,286
Reaction score
1,611
Are there advantages to that?
Watch the first 3 mins of this, he puts it in simple terms.
(Don't watch any farther because he gets it totally wrong)
[video=youtube_https;-n8CiU_6KqE]https://youtu.be/-n8CiU_6KqE[/video]

To put it simply.
You only want 1 earth/neutral link on your property (at the main board)

If u want to learn more look up (Multiple Earth Neutral systems)
And
How a residual current device (RCD) work.
 

crzy2bealive

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
3,558
Reaction score
1,792
Switched out the 50 amp breaker feeding the garage sub panel to a 70 amp breaker.

Previous owner used 6cu to feed the garage.

Added a ground bus bar to the garage sub panel and ran 8/3 to the disconnect box behind the garage for the jacuzzi.

Letting the jacuzzi drain tonight so I can move it soon.

Previous owner didn't even the ground the jacuzzi. Furthermore, they used a green color wire as a neutral. I was pretty confused when I opened it up lol.

Still need to clean up the previous owners wiring but should be done with electrical soon.

20161202_183804.jpg
 

crzy2bealive

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
3,558
Reaction score
1,792
Got the jacuzzi moved. 2" pvc pipe works great to move heavy objects.


20161204_134844.jpg 20161204_134916.jpg
 
Top