WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Educate me about strakes

N of the rvr

Reaction score
Maybe this has been talked about here before. But what is the theory about how strakes work? Some of the boats I've had have several while others only have one on each side, some run all the way to the transom while others stop about 3/4 of the way to the back. Thanks for any info.

FreeBird236

Reaction score
Maybe this has been talked about here before. But what is the theory about how strakes work? Some of the boats I've had have several while others only have one on each side, some run all the way to the transom while others stop about 3/4 of the way to the back. Thanks for any info.

AzGEO to the courtesy phone.:thumbsup

Waffles

Banned
Reaction score
Theoretically, I think i understand what strakes are supposed to do: provide lift, "traction" when turning, and deflect spray. But.....im still learning so i might be completely wrong lol

RiverDave

In it to win it
Reaction score
As a vee is cutting through the water the shape is naturally providing lift. Water is running up angle of the vee, if there is a lifting strake there it will redirect that water back down creating even more lift.

that's about all I got while I am driving..

twocents

RDP Staff Member
Staff member
Reaction score