WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Ford Diesel 6.0 Degas Bottle ? Repling

hulihan

Reaction score
How hard is it to change that degas bottle, or reservoir for the coolant on the ford trucks, looks like a few screws and 3 hoses and make sure the enigine is cold, mine is leaking and just ordered a new one , but do not feel like paying a mechanic to do something that looks so simple , any suggestions ?

hulihan

Reaction score
Someone has to have changed one of these, my plan is to disconnect all the hoses9 I think 3 total) and remove and reverse the process, will only drain out very little coolant and the system is brand new and just refill to correct level and run truck ? I am not a mechanic, but this looks easy

welldigger00

Reaction score
The best way to do it is replace it with a dodge! Lol!

J5Daytona

Reaction score
Just did mine on my 04 piece of cake . i believe its just the screws on the firewall that hold it if I remember correctly, took about 20 mins total.

welldigger00

Reaction score
It's always good to laugh. I feel your pain with the 6.0 ford's. Except I then suffered through the next two generation ford diesels as well. I got rid of them, I still have four late model 7.3's, and now a new Ram on the way. I know the cummins won't let me down. I'm just worried about the rest of the truck. That's one thing you never even thought about with the F550's was the truck itself.

hulihan

Reaction score
It's always good to laugh. I feel your pain with the 6.0 ford's. Except I then suffered through the next two generation ford diesels as well. I got rid of them, I still have four late model 7.3's, and now a new Ram on the way. I know the cummins won't let me down. I'm just worried about the rest of the truck. That's one thing you never even thought about with the F550's was the truck itself.