WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Merc. lower unit project

Water Romper

Reaction score
Though I would post my up-and-coming saga regarding my lower unit, maybe other RD folks might find it interesting and helpful.
To start, I am not a mechanic, i don't live anywhere near Lake Havasu, I am in Boise, Idaho. I am not rich and have limited funds/budget for boating. I know the nay-sayers and bashers may have a good time with this- but it's the route I chose to take.
The motor: 1992 Merc 150 Blk Max, 2 stroke, oil injected, stock-nothing fancy but runs good and fast.
The boat: Hallett 19ft. Sport Skier, original Barron boat from Irwindale, CA.

Here we go-
Near the end of last summer, launched the boat, put the boat in gear to pull away, felt a grinding vibration, chugged and felt terrible, took it out of gear, motor ran fine- water "peeing" good, slipped it back in gear (hoping for some kind of miracle) same thing. I was a foot from the dock so that was the end of my boating for the season- I DID NOT HIT ANYTHING so I figured I scattered the gears etc. Drained the gear oil, no signs of damage/shavings, no water- Hmmmm

Dropped the lower, no signs of damage at the top of the spline (whew) So I take it to the local Mercury dealer/mechanic here in Boise- its a large shop, huge Merc dealer and repair shop.

Mechanic was totally cool- right then and there, he dismantles the whole lower unit, this would have taken me hours, took him 10 minutes. Pulls the whole damn gear clusters out and they look brand new, Clutch dog- perfect, oil, nice and clean. And then...there is was, the bearing went bad, he stated "good thing I didn't continue running the boat" Im thinking I dodged a bullet, after all, how expensive can a couple bearings be.

Here were my options:
1) New or newer motor- $10-$20 thousand dollars- No way
2) New Merc lower unit- $4500.00- 30 day warranty- No Way