WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Penta SX is leaking oil from the prop. Help me out here.

McGruff38

Reaction score
I have a 200 Chaparral 216 SSI with a 5.0 Volvo Penta SX outdrive. Getting everything ready for havasu tonight, I was checking to make sure everything was working as it should, and I lowered the trim. While it was down, oil started leaking out of the middle of the prop.It appears to have stopped after a few minutes, and leaked about 6-8 oz. I would guess. Now looking at it, the is a little that leaked out from behind the prop and ran down the to the bottom of the rudder. Im still new to boats, so Im still getting familiar with this stuff. 2 things I noticed. 1) the prop slides back and forth maybe about 1/4 of an inch, is this normal? If not. I noticed that nut on the back of the prop is right up against the cotter pin (but the nut feels tight, not loose). How bad of shape am I in here? We are planning to leave for Havasu Thursday morning. Is my weekend done before it got started, or is this something I can take care of before then? I took some pics, So I will get them loaded up and posted in a minute.

McGruff38

Reaction score
Here are the pics. The 2 side views show the prop slide forward and back as far as it will go.

Attachments

• Prop1.jpg
    Prop1.jpg
    78 KB · Views: 337
  • Prop2.jpg
    Prop2.jpg
    82.6 KB · Views: 319
  • Prop3.jpg
    Prop3.jpg
    63.6 KB · Views: 341
  • Prop4.jpg
    Prop4.jpg
    64.7 KB · Views: 325

McGruff38

Reaction score