WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Question for welder /fab guys

F.U.IRS

Reaction score
Looking at this dune/sand buggy. I like it but it has a broken chassi
IMG952013.jpg
20201031_193131.jpg
20201031_161155.jpg
. Can this be fixed easily enough? 3 breaks 1 on each side of the coil and one by the upper shock mount.

F.U.IRS

Reaction score
I figured it would need reinforcement. Do you think it could be made strong enough ?

rrrr

Reaction score
That looks like it was caused by a hard endo event. If you could disassemble the car and put it on a fab table, I think it would show the frame was bent in a couple of planes.

Might be a good idea to keep looking. I'm by no means an expert on the dunes, but I think early November is a bad time to begin looking for a sand car. They'll be priced unrealistically or busted up junk, or both.

F.U.IRS

Reaction score
It doesnt look like it's been upside down at all, but I am worried about the chassis being bent, eventhough it looks straight to the naked eye

rush1

Reaction score
You can't see it from the naked eye you would have to use a plumbob and measure all four corners, being broken I'm sure it won't measure square but if it was welded up and gussetet up I'm sure it would be fine.

HSR

Reaction score
Just stress from the shock load. Probably during G outs. As riverroyal said, can be repaired, but that isn’t the fix. Needs a design change. Shouldn’t be that hard to come up with something better, and not reason enough not to buy it if the price is right and the rest of the car is in decent shape.

nordictom

Reaction score
3rd picture, looks like a bad weld. The weld to the left of the coil. could have broke, causing the other tubes to fail. Like other have said, need to put it on a table & start measuring.

NT

arch stanton

Reaction score
Is it a brand name car or is it home built if it is a brand name then the problem and fix may be know if home built still fixable but more trail and error