WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Speed Utv Sand Tire's

Racer56

Jukebox Hero
Reaction score
I have no experience with Utv's in sand dunes, only quads and buggies. I plan on 1-2 dune trip's a year with my Speed El Jefe. What's everyone's thoughts and opinions on the following.

Are stock tires at low air pressures ok or should I buy a set of paddles?

Speed is offering two different sand tire packages.

1. Stock width wheels with smoothies up front and speed paddles in rear.

2. Kmc wheels with razor back's on the front and wider than stock rears with kmc paddles.

The Speed UTV has three drive selections. 2wd, 4wd with front diff open and 4wd with front diff locked. Which one would you use with which tires?

Btw, I'm an aggressive rider and I race a class 10 buggy in More & Score

LargeOrangeFont

We aren't happy until you aren't happy
Reaction score
I have no experience with Utv's in sand dunes, only quads and buggies. I plan on 1-2 dune trip's a year with my Speed El Jefe. What's everyone's thoughts and opinions on the following.

Are stock tires at low air pressures ok or should I buy a set of paddles?

Speed is offering two different sand tire packages.

1. Stock width wheels with smoothies up front and speed paddles in rear.

2. Kmc wheels with razor back's on the front and wider than stock rears with kmc paddles.

The Speed UTV has three drive selections. 2wd, 4wd with front diff open and 4wd with front diff locked. Which one would you use with which tires?

Btw, I'm an aggressive rider and I race a class 10 buggy in More & Score

I am no sand expert by any stretch.

If you air down the stock tires, you will be mobile in the sand in 4WD. It's functional, and that's all I'll say :)

If you are budget minded, or if width is going to be an issue, or you don't want to swap tires from trailer to sand, paddles on the stock wheels will work fine. I think for 1-2 trips a year this would likely work just fine for you.