WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Toxic company and getting out.

Ouderkirk

Reaction score
I have been working for a tech company for close to 20 years as a Director of Engineering, and have decided that the time has come to depart. Their reputation is as a toxic/hostile workplace is long and getting worse. What I am encountering is that their reputation locally is so bad, that nobody wants to hire their employees out of fear of importing that toxic attitude into their places. As a technical person I am not directly involved in creating this environment but I am subject to the dictates of those who are.

I have interviewed for several positions commensurate with my background, and I inevitably get the questions about the culture there. I try to defer and soft pedal it, but they all know how bad it is from the reviews on Glassdoor.

I am looking advice on how to address this issue without getting into the details with a potential employer.

Suggestions?

JDub24

American Bad-Ass!!
Reaction score
Tell the truth and explain its reason behind leaving. If your future employer doesn’t understand that then you don’t want to work for them either.

I have been working for a tech company for close to 20 years as a Director of Engineering, and have decided that the time has come to depart. Their reputation is as a toxic/hostile workplace is long and getting worse. What I am encountering is that their reputation locally is so bad, that nobody wants to hire their employees out of fear of importing that toxic attitude into their places. As a technical person I am not directly involved in creating this environment but I am subject to the dictates of those who are.

I have interviewed for several positions commensurate with my background, and I inevitably get the questions about the culture there. I try to defer and soft pedal it, but they all know how bad it is from the reviews on Glassdoor.