WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

V drive gear ratio help

Bb588

Reaction score
I’m new to v-drive boats I have always run sterndrives. Ok here’s what I have.
boat is 27 foot 5800lbs v bottom
588 ci 700ftlbs 700 hp 5200
No clue what gear I need and advise on a gear to start with would be very helpful. I have a casale box with a 1.33 gear now. The box is new to me so if the 1.33 is way off I will change it. Thanks.

obnoxious001

Engine building character
Reaction score
If it pulls 5200 with that gear and big heavy boat, you are golden.

Sounds over geared if you have not tried it.

Bb588

Reaction score
I don’t know if it will pull that gear or not. Do you think that gear is even close? Or better to start with something different.

Bb588

Reaction score
When you say over geared like 1:1 would be better?

beaverfab

Reaction score
Need more information what prop diameter and pitch, what do you want it to do with the boat?
I would think 1.09 to 1.15% over would work.

Bb588

Reaction score
It’s a offshore fishing boat no prop yet. Mostly be long part throttle runs. Wot will likely not be often. I would definitely trade topend for dock side manners and acceleration.

obnoxious001

Engine building character
Reaction score
I don’t know if it will pull that gear or not. Do you think that gear is even close? Or better to start with something different.
You didn't say if you have a transmission, or just velvet drive. I don't think it can pull it with the big boat. Do you have any idea what was in it before and what it ran? Are you sure the ratio is 1.33? I would have to guess like JJ, a bunch of steps lower.