WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Velvet drive.... someone school me....

Brokeboatin221

Reaction score
So I'm new to vdrive boats in a sense and don't know much about the velvet drive yet have one in my garage. Would like to know more about it as compared to a turbo 400 and such. Appreciate any info such as how many gears and what not. Mine came from a spectra 24 but will probably be ran in my spectra 20. Thanks guys!

wsuwrhr

The Masheenest
Reaction score
What do you want to know?

No comparison to a 400. No "gears". They are pretty simple. forward reverse and neutral.

Brian

BamBam

Reaction score
So I'm new to vdrive boats in a sense and don't know much about the velvet drive yet have one in my garage. Would like to know more about it as compared to a turbo 400 and such. Appreciate any info such as how many gears and what not. Mine came from a spectra 24 but will probably be ran in my spectra 20. Thanks guys!

As stated in the other reply
a TH400 is a heavy duty 3 speed automatic transmission (P-N-R-3-2-1)
a PowerGlide is a 2 speed automatic transmission (P-R-N-2-1)
a Velvet Drive is a fluid driven (similar to an automatic) transmission that only has one forward gear (F-N-R)

From my understanding they do not take as much power to drive (parasitic loss) as a TH400 or Glide but are limited to 1 forward speed. It depends on your set-up. How much HP is the motor going to make, what gears in the v-drive, how much prop etc. etc.

In the end the TH400, the Glide and the Velvet drive are all 1:1 final ratio (in stock form)

Hope this helps a little bit.

Racey

Maxwell Smart-Ass
Reaction score
Velvet drive IMO is almost always preferable to a TH400 unless you don't have the low end torque to make the hole shot. The great thing about a velvet drive is the 1:1 reverse, so they work way better in the harbor than a TH400, or powerglide. Also neutral is a full release in a velvet drive, most TH400s leak some power in neutral and the prop shaft will spin a bit.