WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Where to MBA

lIQUIDATEDdAMAGES

Reaction score
So I am seriously going back to school part time to get my MBA. I am just about six years out of school with a strong resume and now am back working at my family's business. I have a degree in engineering for my undergrad and solid operational work experience in our field. With that said I don't have much of a business background and the longer I stick around at our company the more I'm going to be dealing with business decisions rather than day to day operational ones. This is why I'm considering this undertaking. I am pretty certain that it will be a good financial decision in the long run.

So far I've narrowed it down to two schools in OC. Chapman and Pepperdine's Irvine campus. I have been accepted to both and like both of them. I have about a 20% scholarship to Chapman and none to Pepperdine which is already about 5k more expensive. I really like Chapman but Pepperdine does have significantly higher national rankings. The class sizes are also a little larger at Pepperdine. The $ difference with the scholarship equates to about 20k.

What say you Socal business people??

hallett21

Reaction score
No room for you to grow in the current family business?

Richard.E

Reaction score
My pops got his MBA from Pepperdine. I believe they had a more flexible program at the time, but this was 15 years ago.

I would go with the cheaper alternative if I were in your shoes.

Ouderkirk

Reaction score